Tebow takes Maxwell, O'Brien; McFadden wins Walker

Tim Tebow stopped off in Central
Florida on Wednesday on the way to the Heisman Trophy presentation
and picked up the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien awards.

The Florida quarterback beat out fellow Heisman finalist Darren McFadden of Arkansas and Oregon quarterback Dennis Dixon for the
Maxwell Award, given to the nation's best all-round player, at the
college football awards show held at the Walt Disney World Resort in Orlando.

"I just want to thank my teammates and all the seniors back in
Gainesville," Tebow said. "I'm just glad to be a Gator."

Tebow, the first player in major college football to run for at
least 20 touchdowns and throw for at least 20, is considered the
favorite for the Heisman and is trying to become the first sophomore to win the award.

The Maxwell used to be considered a good barometer for
predicting who would win the Heisman, but none of the last seven
Maxwell winners have gone on to win college football's most
prestigious individual award.

Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn won the Maxwell last season
and finished third in the Heisman voting behind Ohio State's Troy
Smith and McFadden.

The other Heisman finalists who will be in New York on Saturday
night for the award ceremony are Missouri quarterback Chase Daniel
and Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan.

Davey O'Brien Award

Tebow won the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's top quarterback, beating out Oregon's Dixon and Missouri's Daniel.

Tebow is the nation's second-leading passer, having completed 68 percent of his throws for 3,132 yards, with 29 touchdowns and six interceptions.

Troy Smith of Ohio State won the O'Brien Award the past season.

Tebow is the second sophomore quarterback to win the award.

Doak Walker Award

McFadden won the Doak Walker Award for best running back for the
second consecutive season.

A Heisman Trophy finalist and 2007 recipient of the Walter Camp Award, McFadden beat out Michigan's Mike Hart and Rutgers' Ray Rice.

The 6-foot-2 McFadden set Arkansas single-season records this year with 1,725 rushing yards and 2,172 all-purpose yards, breaking the records he set last year. He scored 16 touchdowns and had nine 100-yard rushing games, including a 321-yard effort in a win over South Carolina Nov. 3 that tied an SEC record.

Ricky Williams of Texas was the last
player to win back-to-back Walker awards in 1997-98.

Fred Biletnikoff Award

Michael Crabtree of Texas Tech won the Fred Biletnikoff Award as the nation's best receiver.

Crabtree, the NCAA's leader in total receptions with 125, beat out Mario Manningham of Michigan and Jordy Nelson of Kansas State. He became the nation's first freshman to win the award.

Crabtree led the nation with 1,861 yards and 21 touchdowns and shattered the NCAA freshman record of 14 receiving TDs held by three players. He became last week the first freshman since Herschel Walker in 1980 to be named to the American Football Coaches Association All-American team.

Calvin Johnson of Georgia Tech won the award last season.

Chuck Bednarik Trophy

Penn State linebacker Dan Connor won the Bednarik Trophy as the
nation's best defensive player, making it three straight and four
overall for the Nittany Lions.

Linebacker Paul Posluszny won the
Bednarik the past two seasons and linebacker LaVar Arrington won it
in 1999.

"It's the reason I went to Penn State because it's Linebacker
U.," said Connor, who beat out LSU defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey
and Ohio State linebacker James Laurinaitis.

Connor broke the career tackles record at Penn State in November, passing former teammate Posluszny.

Outland Trophy

Dorsey won the Outland Trophy as college football's best intertior lineman to become the first-ever LSU player to win the prestigious award.

The senior had already won the Lombardi Award
(outstanding lineman) and Bronko Nagurski Trophy (outstanding
defensive player).

The other finalists were Kansas lineman Anthony Collins and Michigan offensive lineman Jake Long.

Despite playing the last five games of the season with a sore right knee, Dorsey finished with 64 tackles, six sacks and 11½ tackles behind the line. Dorsey said his knee will be healthy when LSU (11-2) plays Ohio State (11-1) in the Bowl Championship Series title game on Jan. 7.

Jim Thorpe Award

Arizona cornerback Antoine Cason won the Thorpe Award as the best defensive back in the country.

Cason beat out Boston College safety Jamie Silva and LSU safety Craig Steltz to become the first Wildcats player to win the award since 1990.

Cason leads Arizona with four interceptions this season, and he holds the school record with 307 return yards on his 14 career interceptions.

Texas' Aaron Ross won the award last season.

Lou Groza Award

Arizona State's Thomas Weber won the Groza Award as the country's best kicker, beating out Jose Martinez of UTEP and Austin Starr of Indiana.

Weber is the first kicker from Arizona State to win the award.

Louisville's Art Carmody won the Groza Award last season.

Ray Guy Award

Georgia Tech's Durant Brooks won the Ray Guy Award as the nation's top punter.

The other finalists were Kevin Huber of Cincinnati and Brett Kern of Toledo.

Baylor's Daniel Sepulveda won the award last season.

Information from The Associated Press was used in this report.