Maya Moore Big East POY for 3rd time

HARTFORD, Conn. -- Maya Moore is the Big East player of the year, the third player to win the conference's top award three times.

The senior has averaged 23.4 points and 7.8 rebounds to lead top-ranked Connecticut (29-1) to a 16-0 mark in the Big East this season. Moore joined Villanova's Shelly Pennefather and former UConn star Kerry Bascomb as the only three-time winners.

She also won the award as a freshman and sophomore. Former teammate Tina Charles won it last season.

UConn coach Geno Auriemma claimed his fourth straight conference coach of the year honor and 10th overall. The Huskies' Bria Hartley earned freshman of the year honors.