Maya Moore wins 2nd Naismith Trophy

Connecticut senior forward Maya Moore was named the winner of the 2011 Naismith Trophy as the top women's player in college basketball, becoming the first ever player to win the award twice at two different levels.

Moore also claimed the Naismith award in 2009 and was named the Naismith winner as the nation's top prep player in 2006 and 2007.

"With this award, Maya's basketball legacy becomes cemented alongside some of the best who have ever played the game," Eric Oberman, Atlanta Tipoff Club executive director, said in a statement. "She has accomplished something that no one else has done in the history of the Naismith awards."

Moore averaged 22.3 points and 8.2 rebounds per game for the 36-2 Huskies, who were ousted from the NCAA tournament in the Final Four semifinals Sunday by Notre Dame.

Other finalists for the 2011 Naismith Trophy were Stanford's Nneka Ogwumike, Baylor star Brittney Griner and Texas A&M All-American Danielle Adams.

Moore, also a three-time Big East player of the year, joined select company in being named only the second women's basketball player honored as a four-time All-American by The Associated Press.