Breanna Stewart wins Honda Cup as NCAA's top female athlete

Despite now playing for the Seattle Storm of the WNBA, Breanna Stewart picked up another collegiate award Monday, when she was named the 2016 Honda Cup winner.

The former UConn star beat Michigan softball player Sierra Romero and Penn State soccer player Raquel Rodriguez for the award, which is given to the female collegiate athlete of the year at the College Women Sports Awards.

It is Stewart's first Honda Cup but a record fifth for UConn, whose last winner was Maya Moore (2010 and 2011). Overall, Stewart is the 16th women's basketball player to win the Honda Cup, with the most recent recipient being Baylor's Brittney Griner in 2012.

Stewart concluded a stellar four years with the Huskies with her fourth consecutive national championship and became the first player in NCAA history to earn the Final Four Most Outstanding Player honor four times. She graduated as UConn's career leader in blocks (414) and second on the school's all-time scoring list (2,676 points).

She was the first pick in the WNBA draft by the Storm in April and has flourished in the league so far. She made the U.S. Olympic women's basketball team that will compete in Brazil this summer.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.