Georgia's Caliya Robinson is the espnW player of the week

Editor's note: Charlie Creme, Graham Hays and Mechelle Voepel each vote to determine espnW's national player of the week, which is awarded every week of the women's college basketball season.

Coming off the bench seems to suit Caliya Robinson just fine.

The sophomore forward was removed from Georgia's starting lineup after going a combined 2 of 11 from the field and scoring a total of five points in consecutive losses to Ole Miss and South Carolina two weeks ago.

Starting as a reserve this week, Robinson rediscovered the game that initially made her a starter and the Lady Bulldogs' second-leading scorer.

Robinson's performances against Arkansas and No. 25 Tennessee made all the difference for Georgia, and after averaging 24 points in the pair of victories, she is the espnW national player of the week.

The Lady Dogs (12-11) entered February on a five-game losing streak but are now back above .500 with a renewed chance to salvage what was quickly becoming a lost season.

Sunday's 81-78 double-overtime win over the Lady Vols was Georgia's biggest victory of the season. Robinson scored 28 points on 13-of-17 shooting, grabbed six rebounds and blocked two shots -- one of which prevented what would have been a pivotal layup from Tennessee's Mercedes Russell in the first overtime. Robinson's final field goal came off an offensive rebound with 40 seconds remaining in the second overtime that gave the Lady Dogs a five-point lead. Tennessee never recovered and Georgia got its first win over the Lady Vols in 11 tries.

It marked Robinson's seventh 20-point game of the season. She ranks second at Georgia in points (13.7) and rebounds (6.4) per game, and leads the SEC with 2.4 blocks per game.

Three days earlier against Arkansas -- in the first game after Robinson went from regular starter to reserve -- she had 20 points, nine rebounds and seven blocked shots, regaining the confidence that had been lost during the early weeks of SEC play.

Also considered: Diamond DeShields, Tennessee; Taylor Gleason, Oakland; Kysre Gondrezick, Michigan; Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State; Brooke Schulte, DePaul; Miah Spencer, NC State

Previous winners: Notre Dame's Ogunbowale (Nov. 21) | Virginia Tech's Hicks (Nov. 28) | Duke's Greenwell (Dec. 5) | UConn's Williams (Dec. 12) | Temple's Fitzgerald (Dec. 19) | Cal's Anigwe (Dec. 26) | South Dakota's Arens (Jan. 2) | Washington's Plum (Jan. 9) | Maryland's Jones (Jan. 16) | UConn's Samuelson (Jan. 23) | Washington's Plum (Jan. 30)