Sabrina Ionescu is unanimous AP women's player of the year

Comparing Steph's and Sabrina's greatness (0:58)

Sabrina Ionescu and Steph Curry play very similar games. Check out some of their highlights. (0:58)

Sabrina Ionescu capped an unprecedented college career by entering an exclusive club.

Oregon's star guard was the unanimous choice Monday as The Associated Press women's basketball player of the year, receiving all 30 votes from the national media panel that selects the Top 25 each week during the season. Since the award was first given in 1995, the only other player to receive all the votes is Breanna Stewart of UConn (2016).

"That's pretty crazy. Someone I look up to and have a good relationship with," Ionescu told the AP. "To be in that class with her is an honor."

Ionescu, who was only the eighth player to earn AP All-America honors three times, shattered the NCAA career triple-double mark and became the first player in college history to have 2,000 points, 1,000 rebounds and 1,000 assists.

"Sabrina is a transcendent basketball player," Oregon coach Kelly Graves said. "There's really nothing that she couldn't do on the court. She was the ultimate leader."

Ionescu came back for her senior season, saying she had unfinished business and hopes of winning an NCAA title. She averaged 17.5 points, 9.1 assists and 8.6 rebounds this season as well as having eight of her 26 career triple-doubles.

Ionescu helped the Ducks win the Pac-12 regular-season and tournament titles. The native of Walnut Creek, California, was honored as the conference's most outstanding player of the tournament and regular season.

Ionescu helped guide Oregon to a 31-2 mark this season, which ended prematurely with the cancellation of the NCAA tournament because of the coronavirus pandemic.

"I have enjoyed everything that I did this year," Ionescu said during the Pac-12 tournament. "I never second-guess my choice."

Ionescu might have been the most recognizable college player this year in either the men's or women's game. Her jerseys sold out in hours at stores.

"Sabrina is a basketball player, period. She was this year's Zion and a household name," AP voter Deb Antonelli said. "Fans and ballplayers respect her game because she works hard and produces when the brightest lights are shining on her. She delivered stats in the game no other four-year player has ever accomplished, man or woman."

While Ionescu was a unanimous choice, South Carolina coach Dawn Staley received 20 votes from the panel to win the AP's coach of the year award for the first time. Northwestern coach Joe McKeown was second with five votes, Graves garnered four ballots and NC State's Wes Moore received one.