Associate Sponsors

ESPY facts and history  

What are the ESPY's?
The ESPY Awards were created by ESPN in 1993 and are given for Excellence in Sports Performance.

Where can I see it?
The ESPYs are aired on ESPN on July 16 at 9 p.m. ET.

Tiger Woods
Woods was all smiles Monday night.
Where is it?
The 2003 ESPY Awards will be held at the Kodak Theatre in Los Angeles for the second straight year. Past venues for the ESPYs include the MGM Grand (2000-01), The Paramount at Madison Square Garden (1993-94) and Radio City Music Hall (1995-99).

Who votes for the awards?
Fans vote for 17 categories via the internet. A blue-ribbon panel of sports executives, journalists and retired athletes comprise the ESPY Select Nominating Committee, which votes for the other categories.

What awards are given?

  • This year's list can be accessed by clicking here. The nominees are chosen by the ESPY Select Nominating Committee and the winner is decided by either fans or the ESPY Finalist Committee, which is made up of top athletes and ESPN/ABC personnel.

    What's special about the ESPY's?

  • No other award brings together all of sport, honoring the best performances, most memorable moments and, with the presentation of the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, those whose courage and conviction transcend sport.
  • The ESPYs are distinguished by its charitable contribution, donating a portion of the proceeds to The V Foundation, established by ESPN with the late Jim Valvano and announced at the inaugural ESPYs.

    Who attends?
    Sports' biggest names and many top celebrities have taken part, including:

    Athletes and coaches who have attended or appeared via satellite:
    Michael Jordan, Mark McGwire, Sammy Sosa, Tiger Woods, Kobe Bryant, Ken Griffey Jr., Cal Ripken Jr., Emmitt Smith, Steve Young, Monica Seles, Mark Messier, Barry Bonds, Grant Hill, Bonnie Blair, Brett Favre, George Foreman, Mario Lemieux, Hakeem Olajuwon, Jimmy Johnson, Steffi Graf, Dan Marino, Brett Favre, Jeff Gordon, Rebecca Lobo, Eric Lindros and Pete Sampras.

    Celebrities who have participated and/or performed include:
    David Letterman, Bill Cosby, Denzel Washington, Dustin Hoffman, Billy Crystal, Bill Murray, Rosie O'Donnell, Jimmy Smits, Dennis Franz, Halle Berry, Hootie and the Blowfish, Alec Baldwin, Tim Robbins, Susan Sarandon, Robert Goulet, Joan Jett, Joe Pesci, Matthew Broderick, Sarah Jessica Parker, Chris Rock, Vivica A. Fox, Yasmine Bleeth, Lyle Lovett, Willie Nelson, Kim Alexis, Timothy Hutton, Janine Turner, Tony Bennett, George Wendt, and Robert Wuhl.

    Who has hosted?
    Past hosts include Dennis Miller (1993 and 1994), John Goodman (1995), Tony Danza (1996), Jeff Foxworthy (1997) and Norm Macdonald (1998), Samuel L. Jackson (1999, 2001 & 2002) and Jimmy Smits (2000).

    What is the Arthur Ashe Award?
    The Arthur Ashe award is dedicated to those individuals whos courage and conviction transcend sport. Past recipients include: Jim Valvano (1993), Steve Palermo (1994), Howard Cosell (1995), Special Olympian Loretta Claiborne (1996), Muhammad Ali (1997), Dean Smith (1998), Billie Jean King (1999), Dave Sanders (2000), Kathy Freeman (2001) and Todd Beamer, Mark Bingham, Tom Burnett and Jeremy Glick (2002).

  • presented by