Associate Sponsors

ESPY Awards Academy assembled  

The ESPY Awards has expanded its voting body - the ESPY Awards Academy -- to include nationally recognized print and broadcast sports journalists who will be joined by a compilation of Hall of Fame athletes from each of the sports disciplines the ESPYs honor (athlete list to be announced shortly). The ESPY Awards - for Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly - set the stage for the sports world to celebrate the year's achievements, relive the memorable moments and salute the best performers and performances. The live telecast will be staged at the Kodak Theatre in Los Angeles, July 16, 2003 at 9 p.m. ET.

The editors, writers and columnists who have joined the ESPY Awards Academy:
Mitch Albom - Detroit Free Press
Furman Bisher - Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Hal Bock - Associated Press
Christine Brennan - USA Today
Bill Conlin - Philadelphia Daily News
Mel Durslag - veteran journalist
Tom Friend - ESPN The Magazine
Bud Greenspan - sports documentarian
David Halberstam - author
Steve Hirdt - Elias Sports Bureau
Jeff Jacobs - Hartford Courant
Steve Jacobson - Newsday
Rick Jaffe - FoxSports On Line
Sally Jenkins - Washington Post
Dave Kindred - The Sporting News
Tony Kornheiser - Washington Post
Dan Le Batard - Miami Herald
Bernie Lincicome - Rocky Mtn. News
Bill Livingston - Cleveland Plain Dealer
Monte Lorell - USA Today
Mike Lupica - New York Daily News
Tom McEwen - Tampa Tribune
Bernie Miklasz - St. Louis Post-Dispatch
Woody Paige - Denver Post
Bill Plaschke - Los Angeles Times
Ed Pope - Miami Herald
John Rawlings - The Sporting News
Ken Rosenthal - The Sporting News
Bob Ryan - Boston Globe
Steve Serby - New York Post
Dan Shaughnessy - Boston Globe
Blackie Sherrod - Dallas Morning News
Art Spander - Oakland Tribune
Terry Taylor - Associated Press
Rick Telander - Chicago Sun Times
Laura Vescey - Seattle Post-Intelligencer
Mark Whicker - Orange County Register
Michael Wilbon - Washington Post

They are joined on the ESPY Awards Academy by their broadcast media/former athlete colleagues:
Scott Ackerson - FOX
Ray Borque - Former NHL star
James Brown - FOX
Joe Buck - FOX
Bob Costas - NBC
Dick Enberg - CBS
Curt Gowdy - hall of famer
Bryant Gumbel - CBS/HBO
Greg Gumbel - CBS
Fred Hickman - CNN
Keith Jackson - ABC
Billie Jean King - Former tennis star
Larry King - CNN
Dan Marino - Former QB
Al Michaels - ABC
Brent Musburger - ABC
Jim Nantz - CBS
Vin Scully - Hall of Famer
Hannah Storm - NBC
Lesley Visser - CBS

In addition, the following ESPN sportscasters and executives are ESPY Awards Academy members:
Chris Berman
Linda Cohn
Vince Doria
Jed Drake
Bob Eaton
Chris Fowler
Suzy Kolber
Andrea Kremer
Steve Levy
Bob Ley
John Marvel
Kenny Mayne
Chris McKendry
Joe Morgan
Dan Patrick
Karl Ravech
Jimmy Roberts
Robin Roberts
John Saunders
Jeremy Schaap
Neal Scarbrough
Stuart Scott
Mike Tirico
John A. Walsh
Norby Williamson

The ESPY Awards are highlighted by 14 awards in which the best of the best in a variety of sports disciplines compete directly -- including Male and Female Athlete-of-the-Year, Coach/Manager of the Year and Breakthrough Athlete of the Year. The ESPY Awards also honor the performer of the year in 20 professional and college sports. In addition, the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage is presented to an individual whose contributions transcend sports. The winners have included Jim Valvano (1993), Muhammad Ali (1997), Billie Jean King (1999), Columbine High School coach Dave Sanders (2000) and Cathy Freeman (2001).

The ESPY Awards annually supports The V Foundation for Cancer Research, established at the inaugural ESPYs in 1993 by ESPN with the late Jim Valvano.

presented by