Associate Sponsors

Vote: Which deserves the ESPY for Best Play?  

Press Release

Kobe Bryant
Kobe Bryant accepted an ESPY on behalf of the Lakers in 2002, will he accept one for Best Play this year?
For the first time, on-line fan voting will determine the winner in the Best Play category for the 11th annual ESPY Awards, Wed., July 16 from Hollywood's Kodak Theatre. Voting is currently underway on and it will continue throughout the live ESPY Awards telecast (show begins 9 p.m. ET on ESPN), culminating with the announcement of the winner during the last segment of the show. You can view the top plays in Motion on the front page of or through our standard video player.

The nominees include Barry Bonds' (Giants) near-500-foot home run in Game Two of the World Series against the Angels, Michael Vick's (Falcons) 46-yard overtime touchdown scramble against the Vikings, LSU's Devery Henderson's desperation Hail Mary touchdown reception against Kentucky and two dunks -- LeBron James' (St. Mary-St. Vincent High School) between-the-legs dunk and Laker Kobe Bryant's behind-the-back 360 dunk.

Hosted by Jamie Foxx, the ESPY Awards will bring together the sports world to celebrate top achievements, relive memorable moments and salute best performers and performances. The Best Play fan voting marks the second new interactive element for this year's ESPY Awards. Winners for the 17 sport-specific categories were voted on by the fans through on-line fan balloting last month; more than five million votes were registered.

In all, the ESPY Awards will include 33 different categories featuring both sport-specific and cross-cutter awards (categories that pit athletes from different sports against each other). The ESPY Academy, comprised of legendary athletes and coaches voted on the cross-cutters. All of the winners will be announced on the telecast. In addition, the Arthur Ashe Courage Award is presented annually to individuals whose contributions transcend sports. This year's recipients are Pat and Kevin Tillman.

presented by