Associate Sponsors

The 2004 ESPY Awards winners  

Nominees for the 38 ESPY categories were announced on June 21. The winners for each of the categories were selected by the fans via and league site voting.

Polls closed July 9 and the winners were announced during the ESPY Awards on July 14 and on the ESPN telecast on July 18 at 9 p.m. ET.

More From Page 3
  • ESPY notebook: Seen, heard, said
  • Photos: Best dressed on the red carpet
  • Styling by Serena
  • Sky's the limit
  • There is one minor change to the categories for 2004; Best Action Sports Athlete has been divided to create Best Female Action Sports Athlete and Best Male Action Sports Athlete. The complete list follows:


    Cross-cutter categories:
    Best Female Athlete -- Diana Taurasi
    Best Male Athlete -- Lance Armstrong
    Best Team -- Detroit Pistons
    Best Coach/Manager -- Larry Brown
    Best Comeback -- Bethany Hamilton
    Best Breakthrough -- LeBron James
    Best Game -- Super Bowl: Patriots - Panthers
    Best Record Breaking Performance -- Eric Gagne
    Best Sports Movie -- Miracle
    Best Male College Athlete -- Emeka Okafor
    Best Female College Athlete -- Diana Taurasi
    Best Moment -- Brett Favre
    Best Male Action Sports Athlete -- Ryan Nyquist
    Best Female Action Sports Athlete -- Dallas Friday
    Best Athlete with a Disability -- Kyle Maynard
    Best Outdoors Sports Athlete -- Tina Bosworth
    Best Play -- New Orleans Saints' lateral
    Best Upset -- Detroit Pistons
    Best Championship Performance -- Phil Mickelson

    Individual categories:
    Best MLB Player -- Barry Bonds
    Best NBA Player -- Kevin Garnett
    Best WNBA Player -- Lauren Jackson
    Best Bowler -- Pete Weber
    Best Boxer -- Antonio Tarver
    Best Driver -- Dale Earnhardt, Jr.
    Best NFL Player -- Peyton Manning
    Best Male Golfer -- Phil Mickelson
    Best Female Golfer -- Annika Sorenstam
    Best NHL Player -- Jarome Iginla
    Best Jockey -- Stewart Elliott
    Best Male Soccer Player -- David Beckham
    Best Female Soccer Player -- Mia Hamm
    Best Male Tennis Player -- Andy Roddick
    Best Female Tennis Player -- Serena Williams
    Best Male Track and Field Athlete -- Tom Pappas
    Best Female Track and Field Athlete -- Gail Devers

    Sponsored categories:
    Under Armour Undeniable Performance Award -- Brett Favre
    GMC Professional Grade Award -- Steve McNair

    In addition, the Arthur Ashe Courage Award is presented annually to individuals whose contributions transcend sports. The ESPY Awards are committed to the advancement of The V Foundation for Cancer Research, established by ESPN with the late Jim Valvano and announced at the inaugural ESPY Awards in 1993.

    The winners will be announced during the ESPY Awards on July 14, 2004 and on the ESPN telecast on July 18 at 9 p.m. ET.

    presented by