SEC issues statement on Vols' overtime TD

Steve Shaw, the SEC's coordinator of officials, released a statement on the final play of the Tennessee-Vanderbilt game on Saturday, and it sounds like the Commodores got the short end of the stick.

Here's Shaw's statement in full:

"On the last play of the Vanderbilt-Tennessee game, in overtime, the Tennessee defender intercepted the pass, his knee did not touch the ground and he returned the interception for a touchdown. During the play, the head linesman incorrectly ruled that the Tennessee player's knee was down when he intercepted the pass by blowing his whistle and giving the dead ball signal. The play was reviewed as if there was no whistle on the field, and as a result, overturned the incorrect ruling. By rule, if there was a whistle blown, the play is not reviewable."

An incensed Vanderbilt coach James Franklin could be seen going after the officials when the game ended.