The non-repeat All-SEC team

There are enough All-America and All-SEC teams out there right now to make your head spin.

Why not one more?

This one has a twist, though. This All-SEC team includes only those players who had not been honored in previous years as postseason All-SEC selections (first or second team) by either the Associated Press or coaches.

So here goes:


QB Ryan Mallett, So., Arkansas

RB Mark Ingram, So., Alabama

RB Anthony Dixon, Sr., Mississippi State

WR Shay Hodge, Sr., Ole Miss

WR Darvin Adams, So., Auburn

AP Randall Cobb, So., Kentucky

TE Aaron Hernandez, Jr., Florida

OL Chris Scott, Sr., Tennessee

OL Derek Sherrod, Jr., Mississippi State

OL Barrett Jones, Fr., Alabama

OL Lee Ziemba, Jr., Auburn

C Maurkice Pouncey, Jr., Florida


DE Pernell McPhee, Jr., Mississippi State

DE Cliff Matthews, Jr., South Carolina

DT Dan Williams, Sr., Tennessee

DT Jerrell Powe, Jr., Ole Miss

LB Chris Marve, So., Vanderbilt

LB Patrick Trahan, Sr., Ole Miss

LB Kelvin Sheppard, Jr., LSU

DB Patrick Peterson, So., LSU

DB Myron Lewis, Sr., Vanderbilt

DB Mark Barron, So., Alabama

DB Corey Broomfield, Fr., Mississippi State


K Leigh Tiffin, Sr., Alabama

P Drew Butler, So., Georgia

RS Warren Norman, Fr., Vanderbilt

Of note: The offense looks a lot like our regular All-SEC team last week. The only new players are Auburn receiver Darvin Adams and offensive linemen Barrett Jones of Alabama, Lee Ziemba of Auburn and Derek Sherrod of Mississippi State.

It's just the opposite on defense. Eight of the 11 are new faces. The only three defenders who were also named to the regular All-SEC team last week were Tennessee tackle Dan Williams, Mississippi State end Pernell McPhee and LSU cornerback Patrick Peterson.